Vintage style travel posters and seaside prints by Devon Artist Becky Bettesworth
Cart 0

Giving Back

Becky visits Preston Primary School

Had an awesome school visit to Preston Primary School on 23rd February to celebrate art week. Well done to all the pupils and staff, all the creations and displays were amazing and thank you for doing your topic on my art. I feel very strongly about the importance of art in primary schools, it's not all about stats, maths and english.

 

"During our whole school art week, every year group worked in the style of different artists. The children in Years 1 and 2, looked closely at the work of Becky and created their own local landscapes in her style. The final pieces of work were amazing and all the children were very proud of their paintings. To meet the artist that they were studying was a wonderful experience for the children. They were so excited to meet Becky, where she talked about how she became an artist, how she designed her own work and shared the children’s work. She even signed every child’s painting which made it an even more memorable day for them!"

Becky visits Canada Hill Primary School

Thank you to Canada Hill School for doing their art topic all on my artwork. Such amazing master pieces, well done to all the pupils and teachers. I feel quite overwhelmed that they are studying my pictures and there I am in front of a class hoping to inspire the next generation. Thank you to all the teachers, children and parents who came along to support and showcase the finished display.

Supporting the Valentines Charity Ball in aid of Children with Cancer UK Charity

Becky has kindly donated a framed A4 picture of 'All you need is love' for the Valentines Charity Ball, Saturday 11th February. This is a black tie fundraising ball at the beautiful Spanish Barn on Torre Abbey, Torquay. The proceeds of the ball will be going to Children with Cancer UK Charity, which is the leading national children's charity dedicated to the fight against childhood cancers.

http://www.childrenwithcancer.org.uk

https://www.facebook.com/Valentines-Charity-Ball-1694810960779439/

https://www.facebook.com/Valentines-Charity-Ball-1694810960779439

Donation to the Angels Ball 

Becky is thrilled to donate a signed, framed A4 picture of 'Day Dream Believer' for the Angels Ball, which is being held at The Palace Hotel, Torquay on Saturday 22nd April. 

http://www.angelsball.co.uk/ https://www.facebook.com/angelsball2017/

The Charities are The Last Kiss Foundation http://www.thelastkissfoundation.co.uk/ and Children and Families in Grief http://www.childrenandfamiliesingrief.co.uk/

Becky Bettesworth vintage style travel posters and seaside prints available at https://beckybettesworth.co.uk/

http://www.angelsball.co.uk

 

Becky Bettesworth appreciates and loves where she lives and is committed to supporting her local community of Devon and Cornwall. She does this by donating her stunning vintage style travel posters and seaside prints as raffle and auction prizes for fundraising events in aid of local charities. She encourages and inspires children by visiting local primary schools when they are working on a project and designing their own artwork pieces. Becky has also given talks to secondary school pupils and college business students offering her experiences, illustrating the passion of her artwork and the drive behind her success. These are some of the many ways in which Becky has 'Given Back' to the community she cares for......

 

Becky visits children's seaside art project at Torre Primary School 

What a super visit to Torre Primary School  on 14 December 2016 meeting all the children who have put so much hard work in to creating a wonderful seaside project which was inspired by my vintage style. Their artwork pieces were fabulous with great use of colour and individual expression, they were a delight to see! Thank you to all the teachers, children and parents who came along to support and showcase the finished display.

"The children had spent a long time looking at Becky’s pictures and using their sketch books and watercolours to create some of the colours she uses in her work. They were then asked to create a picture in her style using jus the watercolours – ie: no drawing first and ‘colouring in’.  This proved a challenge for some children but they persevered and the results were stunning. Some children used solid colour paper to create shapes such as cliffs or frees (in a style similar to Becky’s Torquay picture) They were also asked to think about captions for their pictures – many of these were linked to our work on Growth Mindsets ie: Dream Big, Life is out there etc etc.

During her visit Becky talked to the children about how she had become an artist and how she never gave up – the children thoroughly enjoyed her visit and many were inspired to create other pictures at home.
It would be great to work with Becky again if possible – Thanks Becky!"

Devon Sailing Boat auction prize helps raise money for Paignton Zoo projects

So thrilled to support our wonderful Paignton Zoo by donating one of my best selling Devon Sailing Boat travel posters at a charity auction. The Mistletoe Ball is an annual black tie event and is raising funds for conservation works and projects at Paignton Zoo. The Ball is being held on 3rd December at The Grand Hotel on Torquay's seafront.

 

"I just wanted to say a huge thank you for your support on Saturday for our Mistletoe Ball – thanks to you we were able to help raise an amazing £7226.00!!!'

Thank you so much for your auction prize of your lovely Devon print.

Jenny Paton, Fundraising Manager

 

Becky helps Kingsbridge Celebrate Christmas 

Becky has generously donated her super new Salcombe Scooter print as a prize to help Kingsbridge Celebrate Christmas on Saturday 3 December 2016. Mulled wine, mince pies, Father Christmas, Winter Wonderland, Christmas carols, live music and a Christmas farmers market to start off the festive season!

 

 

Becky helps Exmouth Beach Rescue Club celebrate their 30th Anniversary by donating a raffle prize for their special event on 28 October 2016

 

Exmouth Beach Rescue Club  is a voluntary lifeguard charity patrolling Exmouth seafront on sundays through the summer season as well as providing training in Surf Life Saving sport throughout the year for Juniors and Seniors. The celebration event was held at Ocean in Exmouth.

Stunning Saunton Sands print by Becky Bettesworth raises money for local children's charity at DAPH conference 13-14 October at Saunton Sands Hotel

 

'School leaders across Devon were invited to attend the DAPH Annual School Leadership Conference on 13 & 14 October 2016 at the Saunton Sands Hotel, North Devon. This yearly event gives delegates the opportunity to hear internationally recognised speakers as well as the all important reflection time and networking with colleagues. Additionally, DAPH chooses a local charity and this year money was raised for CAP UK Child Assault Protection Project. A grand total of £1020 was raised on the night, with prizes organised for the evening’s casino entertainment which included a signed and framed picture of Saunton Sands by local artist Becky Bettesworth amongst others. Thank you Becky for the kind donation.'

Anna-Marie Tooth, DAPH Administrator

 

Bradninch Charity Ball on 1 October 2016 raises funds for local and regional charities with an auction of Becky's vintage Exeter print.

 

The Ball was held to raise funds for 3 charities: Huntington's Disease Association, Bradninch Football Club and a local hospice which all have a personal meaning to those living in the small town and involved in the fundraising committee.

'The ball was fantastic, raising in the region of £12,000!! Without kind and generous donations such as Becky's it would just not be possible to raise this amount of money for our chosen charities. We are truly grateful to Becky for her kind support.'

Neala Westcott, Fundraiser

 

Becky was delighted to support RNIB and donate a signed Plymouth print for the 10th Future Inn Business Show in Plymouth on 28 September 2016

 

"We are hugely grateful to Becky for donating a wonderful Plymouth print as a prize for our charity raffle at the the Future Inn Business Show. With the support of local businesses we are able to raise vital funds for Royal National Institute of Blind People to support blind and partially sighted people both in Plymouth and throughout the UK. Enabling people with sight loss to live independent and fulfilling lives. We had a fantastic day, thanks again for your support!"

Laura Board, Area Fundraising Manager (Devon & Cornwall) RNIB

www.visitplymouth.co.uk/whats-on/future-inn-business-show-p2122043

 

Becky helps launch South Devon College Business Academy

It gave me great pleasure to talk to some young marketing students at South Devon College's Business Academy on Tuesday 13th September. The students were given a real brief to work on, I can't wait to hear their creative ideas...

Becky Bettesworth helps launch Business Academy at South Devon College

"Becky Bettesworth has kindly provided the South Devon College Business Academy students with a live project that will help develop their communication skills and aid them with future job and university applications. Becky came to South Devon College to brief the group and will return in around six weeks’ time to listen to the students present their findings, which relate to the use of social media by businesses.

In addition to developing transferable skills, such as teamwork and communication, the wining team will receive some of Becky’s fantastic prints as a prize.

Bob Tapp Section Head for Business at South Devon College, said; “We are very grateful that Becky has returned to the College to help our Further Education (FE) students. Last year she provided a live project for a group of Foundation Degree Business and Management students so it is great to give an opportunity to our FE students too.”

Local North Devon charity NDADA holds a summer 2016 raffle and Becky supports them by donating her iconic Woolacombe signed print.

 

"To raise money for North Devon Against Domestic Abuse (NDADA), which provides the last women's refuge in Devon, the charity held a Summer Days in North Devon tombola. Becky very kindly donated print of Woolacombe to the tombola which aimed to celebrate summertime in the region with a range of seasonal prizes. Over £400 was raised to help NDADA continue its vital work supporting victims of domestic abuse."

Dawn Stephens-Borg @restore4ndada

 

Becky was delighted to support The Big Seaside Family Fun Day in aid of Rowcroft on 28 August 2016 and donated a signed Happy Daze print for the raffle.

Becky supports local charity Rowcroft Hospice

"Thank you so much for your kind donation to our raffle which we held in Young's Park Goodrington on 28th August 2016. It was a great success and we raised £14,000 through our big cake sale, auction, raffle, entertainment for children and music for everyone to enjoy for Rowcroft Hospice who are In desperate need of money. I work there and we want to continue giving the 5 star treatment that everyone deserves. Next year will be even bigger! Thank you once again for your support it meant so much to us.

Rachael, jacqui, Carole and Zoe, Charity Fundraisers

 

 

Becky was delighted to be approached by the organisers of DCBMC as they were raising funds for both Devon Air Ambulance & Cornwall Air Ambulance. This years fun fundraising event was held at Plymouth's prestigious The Duke of Cornwall Hotel on 6 August 2016 and Becky donated a signed Plymouth print to help support the fundraising event.

You can read more about the event in the Plymouth Herald article.

 

 

A signed Happy Daze poster was chosen as an auction prize for the Charlies Trophy Charity Golf Day on 5 August 2016 at Dainton Golf Club

Charlies Trophy 2016 raised over £12,000 for RTS Support Group and local charities Children's Hospice South West, Rowcroft Hospice, Newton Abbot Community Transport, Rotary Club of Newton Abbot

Becky supports Charlies Trophy 2016 charity golf day

‘Thank you so much for the ‘Happy Daze’ signed poster for our charity golf day auction, it will go towards raising funds for the RTS UK Support Group, as well as other local charities. Rubinstein-Taybi Syndrome (RTS) offers support towards parents and families with RTS children, and the funds raised go towards funding meetings and more recently the International Conference'.

Emma Fuller on behalf of Charlies Trophy

A full write up can also be found in The Herald Express

 

Becky donates a signed print of Thurlestone for the National Trust South Hams Centre Summer Fair on 26 July 2016

The National Trust South Hams Centre is a voluntary group set up to support local National Trust properties and the South Devon countryside team. Each year they hold a Summer Fair to raise money for local projects.

Becky Bettesworth donates a Thurlestone print for the National Trust South Hams Centre Summer Fair

'Our thanks go to Becky for generously donating a signed print of Thurlestone for the National Trust South Hams Centre Summer Fair. The fair raises money to support the work of the National Trust Rangers in South Devon and places such as Thurlestone will benefit, so it was particularly relevant to have this print as a prize for our raffle this year.'

Samantha Short, Fundraiser

 

My amazing day at Barton Hill Academy on Monday 11 July 2016.

'Thank you for having me and for doing your art topic all about my pictures. The children's artwork was amazing and the displays were incredible. It was a pleasure and joy to meet you all, well done to everyone and thank you.'

 

'Thank you so much for the visit today - the children were buzzing with excitement and so thrilled to meet you. Thank you again, what a marvellous experience for our children'.

Mrs L Dowell, Year 2 Teacher, Barton Hill Academy

 

Rydon School, Kingsteignton

Becky visits the primary school as part of their Art Week on Thursday 30 June 2016. 'What an amazing day meeting all the pupils at Rydon Primary School last week, thank you for inviting me.'

http://creativerydon.blogspot.co.uk/ 

 

 'Our recent Art week culminated in a very special exhibition when we transformed our school hall into an art gallery and invited family and friends to join us. Local artist Becky Bettesworth also visited our school and spoke to key stage one children about what life is like as an artist and what inspires her work. The children were fascinated to hear how Becky became an artist and how she creates her beautiful prints.  Becky then spent time looking at the art in the exhibition and talking to children about their achievements. Everyone loved Becky visiting us and her message to the children was absolutely perfect. Her presence certainly added a gravitas to proceedings and was the pinnacle of a brilliant week.  The entire event was deemed a great success and created an exciting buzz about Art around school.'

Emily Hadley, Year Two teacher and Art Leader, Rydon Primary School

 

A fabulous framed picture of Cornwall Beach was donated by Becky for a special 40th year celebration party and charity auction hosted by CGI to raise funds for The Prince's Trust at The Shard, London on 29 June 2016

Becky Bettesworth donates framed Cornwall Beach picture to raise funds for the Prince's Trust

"CGI held a party to celebrate its 40th birthday at The Shard and wanted to use the occasion to raise money for their charity partner, The Prince’s Trust who were also celebrating their 40th birthday. As part of this they held a silent auction and were thrilled when Becky Bettesworth generously offered to donate one of her beautiful framed pictures of Cornwall. The event raised £4500 for the Prince’s Trust and the fundraising team were very grateful to Becky for contributing £350 from her picture to the success of the auction. Thank you once again Becky for all your support and contribution to our event, it is hugely appreciated".

Philippa Green. UK Head of Corporate Responsibility, CGI  

 

 

Becky donated a signed print of her Torquay sailing boat vintage style picture to the Mendip Road Charity Street Party, Torquay in aid of Rowcroft Hospice & The Lymphona Association on 6 June 2016.

 

Becky Bettesworth donates a vintage print for charity event  

"On behalf of the Lymphoma Association I am writing to thank you so much for the auction prize of a print you recently donated to the Mendip Road Charity Street Party.  The event was a huge success and over £3000 was raised for the Lymphoma Association. Your support means so much. Without it we simply couldn’t go on helping people at a time in their lives when they really need a shoulder to lean on."

Adele Matthews, Lymphona Association

www.lymphomas.org.uk

 

Becky donated a signed poster of Paignton as a tombola prize to raise funds and awareness for MPS as part of their Wear it Blue! campaign at Preston Baptist Church, Paignton on 8 May 2016.

 

 

Jacquie Chappell Ball in aid of Royal Devon & Exeter Intensive Care Unit

At Woodbury Park on 16 April 2016. Becky donated a signed A2 poster of 'All You Need is Love'

 

 

"Thank you again for your kind donation. We very much appreciate it. We are thrilled with this really lovely poster and the service and correspondence has been outstanding"

Victoria Ford, Fundraiser

www.jacquiechappellball.co.uk

 

Becky donated a signed poster of 'Day Dream Believer' for a charity fundraiser event hosted at The Boathouse in Paignton on 7th April raising funds for Starlight children's charity. 

"Many thanks again to Becky for donating the fab Day Dream Believer poster which was very appropriate for our fundraiser we held back in April at the Boathouse in Paignton. The fundraiser was attended by nearly 100 people and generated over £1500.00 for the charity Starlight Children's Foundation, which grants wishes for ill and terminally ill children. The video link below was created to help people understand more about the charity." https://youtu.be/6wDQ-xYLbE4

Katie Hutton, Fundraiser

www.starlight.org.uk

 

 Becky donated 3 prints of Burgh Island, Salcombe & South Hams for a Cake Sale & raffle at Blueriver Cottages, Kingsbridge on 26 March 2016 in aid of Children's Hospice South West 25th anniversary. 

 

“Children’s Hospice South West supports local children with life-limiting conditions, and their families. In 2016 the charity is celebrating its 25th anniversary and marking this very special milestone with a series of exciting, silver-themed events. We are thrilled to have the support of Becky Bettesworth, through our partnership with Blueriver Cottages.”

Naomi Dymond, Corporate Partnerships Fundraiser

www.chsw.org.uk

 http://www.kingsbridge-today.co.uk/article.cfm?id=102356&headline=Blueriver%20Cottages%20raises%20%C2%A3935%20for%20Children%27s%20Hospice%20South%20West&sectionIs=news&searchyear=2016

 

 Becky donated a signed print of Cornwall Beach for the Help Izzy Walk Campaign raffle and auction on 21 March Central Inn, Newquay.

"We are an ordinary family with extraordinary daughters. In January 2016 we launched the HELP IZZY WALK fundraising campaign to try to raise £80,000 so our daughter Izzy can have SDR, a life changing spinal operation which will hopefully help her walk. Our daughter is a bright, happy, cheeky 5 year old girl who loves to sing and dance. Thank you very much Becky for your support, it really means a lot to our family"

Ursula Pearce, Izzy's Mum and Fundraiser 

www.justgiving.com/helpizzywalk

 

Becky donated a print of her vintage quote 'Enjoy Today' for the raffle draw on 12 March 2016 in aid of Round Table Children's Wish which was organised by Ladies Circle, Devon. 

 Becky Bettesworth donates raffle prize to Round Table Children's Wish

"No better Raffle Prize for our Ladies Circle, Devon Charity Event held in the beautiful city of Exeter, than one of Becky's stunning pictures. The lucky lady who won this 'Enjoy Today' picture is very happy indeed! We had a fabulous afternoon/evening together and with the help of Becky's stunning picture we raised another £50 to add to our total for the year for our National President's Chosen Charity "Round Table Children's Wish" Your contribution has helped raised money towards the National total which will be many £1000s.

Adele Clarke, Devon Area Chairman of Ladies Circle Great Britain

www.rtcw.org

 

Becky donated a signed poster of Shaldon for a charity auction, held at London Inn, Shaldon on 5 March 2016 in aid of ELF Exeter Leukaemia

 

Becky Bettesworth donates Shaldon picture to ELF fundraiser

"Thank you for donating the Shaldon A2 poster for our charity night.  We managed to raise over £4500, which is an amazing sum of money! Without the kind donations from local businesses this would not of been possible!"

Colin Stidworthy, Fundraiser

 www.elfcharity.org.uk

Becky donated three of her North Devon prints; Woolacombe, Saunton Sands and Croyde for the Christmas Raffle 2015 raising money for NDADA North Devon Against Domestic Abuse, Barnstaple.

  

Becky donates trio of pictures to NDADA Christmas raffle

Becky and her team were a pleasure to speak to and generously donated three beautiful prints for NDADA's fundraising event”.

Dawn Stephens-Borg, NDADA Fundraiser, Barnstaple

www.ndada.co.uk

 

Becky donated her Christmas cards to sell in THHN Torbay Holiday Helpers Network local shops in December 2015 

Becky Bettesworth gives cards to THHN  Becky Bettesworth gives cards to THHN Charity

"We are absolutely delighted to have the support of Becky Bettesworth, she is such an iconic local artist, with a huge following! It truly is an honour to have THHN involved with her. Becky very kindly donated a box of her beautiful Christmas cards to the charity, for us to sell in 2015 festive period. The money raised went directly to helping THHN provide free fun-filled, memory-making holidays, for families affected by serious illness and bereavement from across the UK; giving them memories to treasure forever."

Luke Tillen, THHN Founder & Managing Director

www.thhn.co.uk

 

Becky donated a signed poster of Salcombe for the Christmas Ball at Salcombe Harbour Hotel on 17 December 2015 to raise funds for the Kingsbridge RFC U15s Spring Tour.

 

      Becky Bettesworth donates Salcome poster for KRFC fundraiser

 "We had a great evening at Salcombe Harbour Hotel, so thank you again for the generous donation towards our fundraising, which was admired by many!”

Linda Harvey, Fundraiser Kingsbridge U15's Junior Rugby Team Spring Tour

 www.kingsbridgerugby.co.uk/juniors

 

South Devon College

Becky talks to Business students during Global Enterprise Week November 2015

Becky talks to Business students at South Devon College 

Becky Bettesworth visited South Devon College during Global Enterprise Week 2016 and gave a presentation to a group of business students about her journey to becoming the successful artist and business person. When asked "what did you learn from the talk?" these student responses typified the feedback:

 

"I found Becky Bettesworth very inspirational and she has changed my mind on setting up my own business, I have also taken into consideration the efforts and passion that has to be put into this to make it achievable."

 

"One thing I can reflect on is that I feel like she has made me believe more in myself and that I feel a lot more inclined to do better and to succeed."

 

"I learnt from the talk that Becky Bettesworth gave that if you really want to achieve something, then you must be passionate about it and work very hard for it. One thing that I will now do differently is that I will have a different perspective on what I want to do with my life and my career choices. The talk was very knowledgeable and inspiring and has made me determined to work harder for what I want."

 

"Both Becky's passion for her career and her self-belief and the need for these attributes came across to her audience. Becky Bettesworth is not only a successful artist and business person; she is also an inspirational speaker. Thank you Becky!"

 Bob Tapp, Section Head Business & Tourism at South Devon College

www.southdevon.ac.uk

 

Becky donated her Day Dream Believer poster for a Children's Halloween Ball at The Grosvenor Hotel, Torquay on 1 November 2015 raising money for Finley's Chair Fund.

Becky Bettesworth donates to Finley's Chair Fund

"We can't thank Becky Bettesworth and crew enough for donating an awesome signed picture for a raffle prize at a recent children's Halloween Ball. The ball was to raise money to help a local young boy and it was a huge success!! Your generosity has been amazing!!! Thank you once again!!”

Bebe Pope, Finley's Chair Fund Fundraiser,Torquay

www.justgiving.com/finleyschairfund

 

Torquay Girls Grammar School

Becky gave an inspirational talk at the Year 12 & 13 Awards Evening on 

21 October 2015

Inspirational Talk from Becky Bettesworth at Torquay Girls Grammar School

 Torquay Girls' Grammar School asked Becky to speak at a recent Awards evening to celebrate the achievements of our girls within the Sixth Form. We believe that it is important for our girls to be exposed to women in business that can inspire and motivate them to achieve well in anything that they choose to do and Becky fits this bill to a tee! She spoke with enthusiasm about her career, the highs and lows that she has experienced as well as providing a human side by talking about the importance of family.  We very much enjoyed her presence at our event; she left a resounding message that just like her posters, 'Life is a Journey' but you must make sure you try to 'Enjoy Today'. Thank you Becky!

Sarah Colombini, Deputy Headteacher in charge of Upper School, Torquay Girls' Grammar School

www.tggs.torbay.sch.uk

 

Watcombe Primary School, Torquay

Becky visits and opens the children's Art Gallery on 20 October 2015 

 

Becky Bettesworth visits Watcombe Primary school 

 "Becky came to our school to open an art gallery that the children had been working on for 3 months. Having Becky at the event made it very special and memorable for the children and they are still talking about when a 'real' artist came to their school".

Mrs Jane Matthews, Class Teacher, Watcombe Primary School

www.watcombe-primary.torbay.sch.uk/

 

Becky designed and created a framed poster to be auctioned off at the The Reach May Ball charity event held at Woodbury Park, near Exeter, Devon on 2 May 2015. 

 Becky Bettesworth creates artwork for May Reach Ball

 

"I was delighted that Becky designed a framed print of Woodbury Park Hotel towards the Grand Auction at the Reach May Ball 2015. It looked amazing and I was so excited when I met up with Becky to pick it up in lovely Torquay. It was a popular item on the night and raised a great amount of money for the charity . Thanks Becky !!"

Sian Brooks, Fundraiser for Reach

www.reachmayball.com

 

Canada Hill Primary School, Newton Abbot

Becky visits the children on March 27th 2015 to see their fabulous artwork.

Becky Bettesworth visits Canada Hill primary school

 

Other charities Becky has supported ......

Marie CurieClavert Trust ExmoorRoyal Cornwall Hospitals Charity

 

Oceans Project

 

Becky designed and donated the artwork to promote Sarah Weldon's first world solo row in 2015

   

 

Becky Bettesworth creates Ocean Project artwork

 

"In preparing for a world first solo row around the coast of Great Britain I wanted to have a poster and invitation for my launch event that would be British created and a celebration of the British coastline, whilst showcasing what I was planning to undertake. My brief to Becky was fairly loose and based on a very specific feature - my boat. What Becky created for me was a masterpiece that everyone fell in love with on first sight! I was a huge fan of Becky's work before, but even more so now and I can't wait to visit all the places that I've seen on her vintage posters".

Sarah Weldon FRGS, CEO of Oceans Project

www.oceansproject.com